Koolio

Thoughts & news on technology…well, mostly

12″ MacBook Pros in June?


Word from AppleRecon is Apple will be announcing 12″ MacBook Pros at the WWDC in June. Some of the deets:

  • LED backlit displays
  • 12″ Widescreen with 1280×800 resolution
  • Intel 2Ghz Core 2 Duo
  • 1GB RAM w/standard configuration
  • ATI Radeon X1900 with 256MB
  • Weight: ~3.5 lbs.
  • Price: $1,799

Let’s hope AppleRecon’s sources are correct.

Personally, if this is true, I think it’s great that the 12″ MacBook Pro will be added to the line-up but I’m waiting for the 15″ LED backlit MacBook Pro with Leopard. What about you – planning on getting a MacBook Pro this year??

Filed under: Apple, MacBook Pro, MacOSX, Rumors, Technology

4 Responses

  1. If this was available when I originally made my MacBook purchases I would have gotten it. I wanted a really small notebook, but I also wanted some power. I bought a regular white MacBook to start because of the size and price but soon realized it didn’t have all the power I needed, so I sold it and upgraded to the 15″ Pro.

    Too late now, though, as I don’t think I’ll sell the 15″ to get a 12″ if it comes out. Perhaps my brother may be able to get one as he is looking for a new Mac.

  2. koolio says:

    Regarding your MacBook, what did you think of the glossy screen? I’m planning on buying the 15″ MacBook Pro when Leopard is released and the MacBook Pros are updated with LED displays (hopefully). I am leaning towards getting it with the glossy screen but was a bit concerned about reflections, etc.

    If I traveled a lot, I would probably get the 12″ MacBook Pro.

  3. The glossy screen doesn’t bother me. I actually like it. It brings out the color a little better than a regular one would and the image is crisper. I’ve never had a problem with glare or anything. Of course, it does smudge easily, but it’s really not that big a deal. I’d say go for it.

    I believe, though, that you can choose a glossy or non-glossy screen now. The lady at the Apple Store asked me which one I wanted when I bought the Pro.

  4. koolio says:

    Thanks, that’s good to hear. I’m 95% pretty sure I’ll get it with the glossy screen due to the crisper image and higher contrast/color saturation.

Leave a Reply

