Koolio

Thoughts & news on technology…well, mostly

Windows Vista Sidebar Wish List


Vista Sidebar Screenshot

I’ve been using Windows Vista Ultimate for about a month now and have had a chance to use Sidebar a little bit. Overall, Sidebar is nice but there are a couple of things that can be improved upon:

  • Sidebar is limited to a fixed width column on your desktop – it would be nice if I could widen this column since I have a 20″ widescreen LCD monitor (Dell 2007WFP).
  • It would also be nice if I could change the size of the gadgets so, for example, I can read more of the headlines in my RSS gadgets.
  • Sidebar allows for multiple ‘pages’ (or columns, if you will) of gadgets but the only way you can view the second, third, etc. ‘pages’ is by clicking on the left or right arrows at the top of the Sidebar column – it would be nice if I could customize Sidebar to cycle through my ‘pages’ every x seconds/minutes. I will rarely cycle through these ‘pages’ on my own.

I can’t offer a true comparison between Sidebar and Mac OS X’s Dashboard because Dashboard is only available on Tiger (OS X 10.4) and I’m running 10.3.9 (Panther). However, I have used Dashboard on other Macs and Sidebar has a leg-up on it: Sidebar gadgets/widgets are displayed on your desktop – with Dashboard you have to hit a button to view the widgets. Since Sidebar gadgets are displayed right on the desktop, they will be viewed more often…after all, isn’t that the point of these things? Anyway, I’m (wishfully) hoping Microsoft will include these improvements in Q4 2007 with Windows Vista Service Pack 1.

Filed under: MacOSX, Microsoft, Sidebar, Sidebar Gadgets, Software, Vista, Windows

5 Responses

  1. jondavis30 says:

    i have to agree im afraid, microsoft have really disappointed me on this one.

    With windows vista i expected something different, seeing as it has taken them nearly 5 years to develop it. Ive been running the Vista Ultimate System since it was released as a testying agent for microsoft, and the only improvement i can really see is the sidebar and gadgets, which The apple OS X offers anyway, so really i dont see much of a breakthrough.

    Sorry microsoft, im disappointed with this one.

    http://webtechblogspot.wordpress.com

  2. koolio says:

    I would say another nice improvement in Vista is the universal search (a la Mac OS X Spotlight search). It makes it much easier to launch an application and find files/folders. Again, “been there done that” with Mac OS X but, hey, at least Microsoft has added these nice OS X features.

  3. jondavis30 says:

    they havent really added the features, they copied the idea from os x, in all honesty, im about to buy a mac because of windows vista, there are too many security and software glitches in it causing time delays for users and pros alike. all in all the macs are more user frinedly.

  4. koolio says:

    jondavis30: Nice! Get a Mac – you’ll love it. 😀

    Btw, if you’re thinking of getting a MacBook Pro, I would recommend waiting until they release them with LED back lit displays.

    Steve Jobs announced that they will be releasing LED back lit displays this year in the MacBook Pro so it’s no longer a rumor. 😉

  5. Gill Bates says:

    I wish you could change the height of the bar as i only have a few gadgets on it, and so that my desktop icons would fit neatly underneath it, rather than to the side of it- makes my screen look tiny

Leave a Reply

