Koolio

Thoughts & news on technology…well, mostly

8 questions about the iPhone from Guy Kawasaki


Guy Kawasaki has written a nice post listing 8 questions he has about the iPhone and saying how high the expectations are for the iPhone – from both consumers as well as Wall Street analysts. Of his 8 questions, I think the first 3 are the most important:

  1. What’s battery life with Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and iTunes running on a big color screen? The battery life of my Motorola Q sucks, and I don’t have Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, or music running. Based on Apple’s record when it comes to battery life of laptops, this is at the very least an “open issue.”
  2. Will people tolerate Cingular’s Edge network? I switched from Cingular to Verizon to get EVDO. Edge is supposed to be three to fours times slower than EVDO. The knock on EVDO is that it has much less coverage, but I’ve seldom had coverage problems. Maybe only people like me who have used EVDO will ever realize that Edge is so much slower…
  3. Will a phone without a hardware keypad work in the real world? I mean a world where you’re driving while trying to dial numbers as well as access and delete voicemail (unless you’re a SpinVox user). Can a person dial an eleven-digit number without looking at the touchscreen at sixty mph?

Here are my thoughts on these 3 questions:

  1. This (along with #3) is THE most important factor and I’m sure Apple will make sure there’s sufficient battery life. The processor that the iPhone will be using (ARM) has been implemented in current smartphones with very good battery life (e.g., my T-Mobile Dash) so we know Apple should be able to get good battery life out of it. Hopefully, this will be the case.
  2. For those that have never used a 3G or EVDO network, they won’t know the difference (including yours truly). For those that are using Cingular’s 3G or an EVDO network, they *probably* won’t care. Those that do care will wait for the 2nd gen iPhone with 3G (which I am going to try my hardest to do).
  3. This is another critical factor for the success of the iPhone. After reading the hands-on reviews from Cade Metz (PC Magazine) and Andy Ihnatko (Chicago Sun-Times), I’m fairly confident that Apple has implemented the touch screen correctly. There are going to be people who need to have tactile feedback and there will be those who are willing to give it up.

I agree with Guy Kawasaki that there are some VERY high expectations for the iPhone. If it falls short of expecations, you know everyone’s going to be ripping the iPhone a new one…and those Wall St. analysts will start reducing their earnings forecasts for Apple. Even with the high expectations, I think a lot of people believe the iPhone will live up to the hype given the positive hands-on reviews from Cade Metz and Andy Ihnatko. Personally, I think it will live up to most of the hype but the 2.5G/EDGE radio will be sobering because it will be nowhere as fast as Steve Jobs’ demo during his keynote at Macworld (which was done via WiFi). Well, we’ll get the real deal in about 3 months time…

Filed under: Apple, iPhone, Smartphone

3 Responses

  1. Mary-Louise says:

    I work for Guy Kawasaki. Thanks for your comments about Guy and the link to his posting yesterday on the iPhone!

    Mary-Louise
    Virtual Assistant

    http://blog.guykawasaki.com/

  2. Jake McKee says:

    As someone who was using the Cingular EDGE network and is now using the 3G network, I assure I do very much care. In fact, it’s the single biggest thing holding me back from getting a 1st gen iPhone.

  3. koolio says:

    Jake – the lack of 3G in the iPhone is one of the biggest drawbacks for me as well but I know there will be existing 3G/EVDO users who will trade that for an iPhone in a heartbeat. What I meant in my post was that people who are using 3G/EVDO and must have an iPhone won’t care about the lack of 3G (I updated the post).

    If I were in your situation, I would do the same – wait for the 2nd gen iPhone.

Leave a Reply

