Koolio

Thoughts & news on technology…well, mostly

To Twitter or not to Twitter?


twitter.PNGIf you’re not familiar with Twitter, here’s an overview: it’s like a micro blog where people answer a simple question of “What are you doing?” By answering this question, in 140 characters or less, it allows you to inform your circle of friends, in real-time, about what you’re doing. You post updates (called tweets) via Twitter.com, mobile phone, IM, or a desktop app (like Twitterrific and Twitteroo). If you’ve connected your mobile phone to Twitter, you’ll get an SMS message whenever your friends posts an update…which is basically a group SMS mailing list – similar to Dodgeball (remember that?) but easier to use.

When I first checked-out Twitter 3 -4 months ago I thought, “Eh, what’s the big deal?” Now that South by Southwest Conference (SXSW) is over and Twitter won the SXSW Web Award, I decided to create an account to see what all the hype is about. After playing around with it for a day or two, I now understand why it’s popular but it’s not for me. I don’t feel the need to post what I’m doing throughout the day. Besides, do people need to know what I’m doing and do they really care? I doubt it.

I think Twitter can cause information overload because there’s no way to filter the noise (e.g., “eating a burrito for lunch”). The potential to receive more noise than signal is quite high. Most people’s lives aren’t that interesting so there’s no need to know all of the details…unless, of course, if you’re a stalker. And, if you are, you’re probably already using Twitter. 😉

So, to Twitter or not to Twitter – that is the question. My answer (for now): not to Twitter.

Btw, if you’re interested in reading some Twitters, here are some relatively well-known people using Twitter: John Edwards, Robert Scoble, Dave Winer, and Steve Rubel.

Filed under: Social Web, Technology, Thoughts, Web 2.0

3 Responses

  1. Kuswanto says:

    I also ditching Twitter for now. I don’t see any benefits by telling my network about what am i doing at that moment.

    If Twitter support filtering message, for example i can choose to whom i sent my message. Maybe i can use it for work. So, i can notify my client about work progress without using email, or IM.

  2. […] the question that Koolio and Joe Duck and many, many thousands of other people are asking. Twitter won the SXSW Web Award […]

  3. koolio says:

    Kuswanto, it’d be interesting to see if your clients would be interested in receiving tweets on a project’s status. Most of my previous clients (I used to work at a web consulting firm) would prefer to have statuses in a more formal manner – e.g., email or Word doc. That being said, this was 1 -2 years before the whole web 2.0 craze.

    I agree that some sort of a filter would be helpful or a way to group your friends. This way, you could group your friends by what types of tweets you would send to them.

    At the end of the day, I just found it to be a real pain in the butt to update my twitter. I’d rather spend that time writing posts to this blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

