Koolio

Thoughts & news on technology…well, mostly

Daylight Savings Time bug with Google Calendar’s API


There is a bug with Google Calendar’s API – their API doesn’t account for the changes to Daylight Savings Time (DST). This is making life hell for anyone who uses 3rd party software to sync Google Calendar to their Outlook, Windows Mobile, etc. calendars. Don’t get me wrong, I love Google but they royally screwed-up on this one. According to Google Support, they’re hoping to fix this in April – April?! WTF!

I noticed this because I use GooSync to synchronize my T-Mobile Dash to Google Calendar. Things were working perfectly until the changes to Daylight Savings Time (DST) took effect on March 11. Post March 11, when I created an appointment on my Windows Mobile 5 device and synced it to Google Calendar, the time of the appointment would show up correctly. But, on a subsequent sync, it would push the appointment time forward by one hour.

If you’re a GooSync user, here’s the link to the post about the DST issue in GooSync’s support group. I gotta say, it’s nice that GooSync posted this note because I’m sure they got a lot of people bitching at them – thinking it was GooSync’s fault (at first, I thought it was their fault, too).

Filed under: Calendar, Cellphone, Daylight Savings Time, Google, Smartphone, Windows Mobile, Wireless

6 Responses

  1. […] API – it doesn’t support the recent Daylight Savings Time (DST) changes.  See my post about […]

  2. […] some digging, I found that many folks online (most are unclear as to if this is an Outlook or Google issue, but as I note below, I think it’s Outlook) were complaining of the same issue but while […]

  3. Shaykid says:

    Hi
    Any news on this bug ?
    S.

  4. koolio says:

    I haven’t checked since I stopped using GooSync when I got my iPhone last June.

    I would imagine Google has fixed it.

  5. André Branco says:

    No, they didn’t…

  6. Sucy says:

    I’m afraid they won’t.

Leave a Reply

