Koolio

Thoughts & news on technology…well, mostly

Review: Dyson Root 6 handheld vacuum


dyson-root-6.jpgI’ve always wanted a good handheld vacuum but it’s not something that’s at the top of my list of purchases (who wants to vacuum, right?). For the past couple of years, we’ve been getting by with our crappy Dirt Devil (which is loud as hell and doesn’t have good suction). Due to its crappy performance, we rarely used it – instead, we just busted out our Miele S168 upright vacuum. The Miele is a nice vacuum but it’s a pain in the butt to take it out, unravel the power cord, plug it in, etc. just to vacuum a small area. In comes the Dyson Root 6 handheld vacuum.

There are lovers and haters of Dyson vacuums. The people that I know who have a Dyson DC14/17 love it…and I can understand why. But, the Root 6 is a different animal because it’s cordless and has a short battery life. The latter is why I wasn’t sure if it was worth $150. Since I could return it after 30-days, I decided to give it a whirl.

Here are my findings and the answer as to whether or not I’m going to keep it:

Pros:

  • Good suction
  • Easy to use – just undock it from the charging station and start vacuuming
  • Easy to empty the see-through compartment
  • Bagless
  • Dyson’s claim that the suction remains constant until the battery dies is true (other cordless vacs tend to slowly loose suction as the battery is drained)
  • I like the form factor – yes, it does look like an oversized power drill but it makes it easy to use
  • The battery is lithium ion (lithium ion batteries don’t develop a ‘memory’ problem like nickel metal hydride batteries)

Cons:

  • Battery time is VERY short – about 5 – 6 minutes
  • It takes around 1.25 hours to fully re-charge the battery (that’s a long time to wait if 6 minutes isn’t long enough to finish a vacuum-job)
  • There is a minor rough edge right below the trigger, which rubs the side of your trigger finger after a few minutes of heavy use. However, I’ve seen other display models that don’t have this rough edge so I think it was just a manufacturing issue. Besides, I can use sandpaper to smooth it out.

Suggestions for Improvement:

  • Increase the battery life to at least 10 minutes
  • Modify the charging station so that a spare battery can be charged while the Root 6 is being used. Currently, the battery must be attached to the Root 6 in order for it to be charged. Maybe Dyson will sell a charging station where the battery can be charged independently from the Root 6.
  • Cost of an extra battery: $75

Conclusion:

The Dyson Root 6 vacuum is a 3.3 pound cordless vacuum that has very good suction. I naively thought the suction would be on par with Dyson’s upright vacuums – like the DC14 or DC17 – but it isn’t. After all, it is a handheld vacuum not an upright. I don’t claim to have a lot of experience with handheld vacs but the Root 6 has the most suction out of all handheld vacs that I’ve used.

The Dyson Root 6 is easier to use than my Miele or Dirt Devil and is able to vacuum certain things the other two can’t. For example, we have two slip-cover couches that are made of cotton twill. Our chocolate lab’s fur pretty much gets glued to the couch because of the twill. Prior to the Dyson Root 6, I used a lint roller that took forever to remove all of the fur but the Dyson sucks up the fur with ease. With the Dyson, the time it takes to de-fur my couches has been reduced by 5x.

So, am I keeping the Dyson Root 6? Yes.

At the end of the day, I would recommend the Root 6 but with one caveat: make sure the 6-minute battery life is enough for your vacuuming needs. If you’re not sure about the battery life, I recommend giving it a try. The only thing you have to lose is the time it takes to go back to the store to return it.

Battery life aside, the Root 6 makes small vacuuming jobs sooo much easier; and, since it’s easier to use, I vacuum more often…which makes the woman happy. As you may know, a happy woman makes a happy home. 😉

Filed under: Dyson, Reviews, Vacuums

5 Responses

  1. Olivia says:

    Thank you for your helpful information can you tell me how about buy Dyson DC17 vacuum cleaner is it alright?

  2. koolio says:

    Hi Olivia,

    I know two people who own the Animal vacuum and they love it. So, I would go for it!

    And, the experience I had with Dyson’s customer service has been top notch. For example, about a month ago, our Root 6 stopped working and when we called customer service, they immediately sent a replacement part – no questions asked. On top of that, we got the part in 2-3 business days.

  3. Mark says:

    I’ve had a dyson dc-07 for about 4 years now and I love it. HEPA filter is easily washed and it picks up the tiniest of dust particles and hair, hair, hair from a long-haired cat. Also bought the Root 6 and must say that I am disappointed with the battery life. After about 1 1/2 – 2 years of very light use, the battery exhausts after about 20 seconds of use. Do anyone know if dyson is offering replacement batteries either free or at a discount?

  4. koolio says:

    Mark,

    I just noticed the same thing with my Root 6 the other day – I used it for around 2 minutes and the battery light was showing red. I have a to-do to call them and see if they’ll cover it under warranty.

    They make a great product and I’m hoping their customer service/warranty is just as good.

  5. koolio says:

    Ok, just got off the phone with Dyson customer support and it was a hassle-free experience. They had my name on file (from when I registered the product and had the motor replaced) and the woman said they would send me a new battery to see if it resolves the issue.

    I have to say, I love Dyson products and their customer service is top notch. And, that is why I will remain a Dyson customer.

Leave a Reply

