Koolio

Thoughts & news on technology…well, mostly

T-Mobile raising SMS rates: cancel your contract without paying the fees


Following in the footsteps of Verizon Wireless, Sprint, and Cingular/AT&T, T-Mobile is raising their SMS rates from 10 cents to 15 cents on June 1, 2007. You know what that means? It means, if you’re in a contract and want to leave T-Mobile, you should be able to do so without paying the early termination fees (ETF). The reason is because their contract allows you to cancel your contract without penalty if they increase the pricing of their services (I suspect, this is why they don’t increase your monthly rate plan when they increase it for new subscribers).  However, your mileage may vary depending on the customer support rep you get.

I have to admit, I’m a bit skeptical but people have reported that they have been successful in doing this – like The Boy Genius Report.

I have another year on my contract and have been very happy with T-Mobile but they won’t be carrying the iPhone…hmm, should I try to get out of my contract? If I successfully pull this off, I’ll definitely blog about it. 😉

[via Engadget Mobile and CrunchGear]

Filed under: Cellphone, T-Mobile, Wireless

6 Responses

  1. Eric says:

    yeah this is bogus, you supposedly needd to have had overages on text or mms for the past 3months before the june 1st deadline. They all say you would have to have overages on your feb mar and apr bills for this to apply. What a load of crap! especially since my service sucks and the 14 day trial is crap too since the service was great for the first 30 days!!!!! all cell companies suck , if u live in an area with metropcs get it bang for buck unless you travel domestically and internationall alot!!!!

  2. koolio says:

    Damn, that sucks. You know, I had a feeling there was some catch to it. Gotta love how these companies do everything they can to keep you in a contract.

  3. Lucky says:

    i want to cancel my account the one for sms rate my Number is 0827882753 and please send me an sms to confirm

  4. koolio says:

    Lucky, you’ll need to contact T-Mobile. I don’t work for them.

  5. bruce says:

    i had an unlimited txt plan and changed it to per message. Per my contract i am allowed to do this. I then tried to call tmo to have them waive the etf and they refused.

    My question is, it doesn’t appear by the contract that it prevents me from changing my plan prior to the increase.

    when i changed my plan from unlimited to the per message she stated the message fee was 15 cents.

    what gives?

  6. koolio says:

    Bruce, I’m not following your question.

    If you removed your unlimited text messaging plan, then Tmo will charge you for each text message you send.

Leave a Reply

