Koolio

Thoughts & news on technology…well, mostly

Samsung BlackJack owners will get free upgrade to Windows Mobile 6


wm6-logo.gifGood news: AT&T has publicly stated that all Samsung BlackJack, Treo 750, and Cingular 8525 owners will get a free upgrade to WM6.

Bad news: the AT&T/Cingular spokesperson would not commit to a specific date and only said, “later this year.”

If I owned one of these phones, I wouldn’t mind waiting since I bet a lot of 3rd party software is not yet compatible with WM6.

[via Brighthand]

Filed under: Cellphone, Cingular, Mobile Phone, Samsung, Smartphone, Windows Mobile, Wireless

8 Responses

  1. The phone comes with awesome software and the upgrades to HTML email and searching contacts and email via exchange instead of waiting to return to your desk really ups the bar. 3rd party software is the last thing I care about when thinking of the WM6 upgrade.

  2. koolio says:

    I agree…HTML email, searching contacts, and support for Exchange Server is great. But, I run a couple of 3rd party software that I rely on and want to make sure they support WM6 before I upgrade.

    To be perfectly honest, I haven’t checked to see if they’ve released WM6 versions…they might have but, right now, I don’t have the time to upgrade.

  3. adam says:

    hi i cant find any softwares for my blackjack coukd you please leave me some website where i can find free games and applications thats compatible for my phone

    thanx adamson

  4. koolio says:

    Hey Adam,

    I don’t know of any sites that offer free games for WM devices. A good place to start for trial / paid software is Handango: http://tinyurl.com/2zstxp

    Hope this helps!

  5. Brandon says:

    Does anyone know how i would upgrade my cingular blackjack to windows mobile 6?

  6. Andrew K. says:

    You will update your Blackjack at this link once the update is available. Rumor mill says September 17th….

    http://www.wireless.att.com/support/deviceConfig.do?content=KB78241.html

  7. koolio says:

    Nice, thanks. We should find out soon!

  8. Sudershan Rao says:

    1. I am trying for an upgrade patch for my Black Jack but I am sorry to say I failed. Neither Samsung nor microsoft has released the same, if released the patch may not be a single file and the file name doesn’t match.

    2. There are no much games and apps available for this mobile.

Leave a Reply

