Koolio

Thoughts & news on technology…well, mostly

Got Mii a Wii


nintendo-wii.jpgI got a Nintendo Wii this morning – suh-weet! 😀

The Wii has been out for about 7 months and it’s still ridiculously hard to get one. However, it should start to get easier to find a Wii in the next couple of months since Nintendo said they are ramping up production and are aiming to sell 14 million consoles by March 2008.

Here’s how I got my Wii:

  • Friday, April 27 (5:30pm): I stopped by Target (Somerville, MA) on my way home from work to see if they had any Wiis.
  • The sales clerk told me they were sold out (what a shocker!) but they should be getting more on Sunday, April 29 (he didn’t know how many they were getting).
  • Sunday, April 29 (7:15am): Since Target opens at 8am on Sundays, I got there at 7:15am and there were already 4 people waiting.
  • Sunday, April 29 (7:30am): A Target manager came out and gave us tickets to buy the Wii (they had 18 in total) – I got ticket #5.
  • Sunday, April 29 (8:05am): I bought the Wii and was on my way out the door.

If you’ve been thinking about getting a Wii, I would recommend getting one – the games are ridiculously fun.

Filed under: Gaming, Nintendo, Wii

2 Responses

  1. Brandon Hays says:

    No wai! Still handing out tickets for the Wii? Come on Nintendo, time to step up production.

    I was one of the lucky ones to stand in line to get a reservation for the midnight launch. Everyone in line thought there would be tons of Wiis to go around, and that we just wanted to be the first ones to get it.

    I think that I can declare the Wii the winner of my heart: as the owner of a PS3, X360, and Wii, it’s the only one that I keep coming back to. Twilight Princess, WarioWare, and Super Paper Mario are all must-buys.

    Congrats, and welcome to the world of Wii fanboys!

  2. koolio says:

    Yeah, I am also surprised that it’s still ridiculously hard to find a Wii.

    Thanks for recommending those games…I’ve been reading the reviews of those games and trying to decide what to get. I’m definitely getting Zelda: Twilight Princess.

    I also have an Xbox 360 and, overall, prefer it over the Wii because of the online/Live component but I still love the Wii. The Wii is a great in-person console to play but the X360 is the best when you want to play over Live.

Leave a Reply

