Koolio

Thoughts & news on technology…well, mostly

MacBook Pro processor upgrade in January 2008?


This is a pretty old tidbit but I thought I’d post it anyway since a few friends didn’t know about this rumored update. The processors will be upgraded to Intel’s new Penryn processor. Here are the details of the new Intel Penryn processors. There aren’t any rumors as to which ones Apple will use in the MacBook Pros but my guess will be the 2.4Ghz and 2.6Ghz processors.

The size of the Penryn chips will also be reduced from 65 nanometers (nm) –> 45nm, which should allow the chips to run a bit cooler.

For reference, the current MacBook Pros come with either 2.2Ghz or 2.4Ghz processors.

macbook-pro-penryn-chips.gif

FYI, the price reflects the purchase price in 1,000-unit trays from Intel so it’s not the price we would pay. 😉

So, if you’ve been thinking about buying a MacBook Pro, I’d recommend waiting another 3 months…that’s what I’m doing.

EDIT (January 16, 2008): Well, Steve Jobs did NOT announce any updates to the MBP during yesterday’s MacWorld keynote. Needless to say, I’m extremely bummed b/c I’ve been waiting for 6+ months to upgrade my Powerbook G4. There are rumors that Intel is having/had an issue with the thermal sensor on the Penryn chips and that supply will be tight through February. If this is true, we prolly won’t get updated MBPs until March/April. I’m hoping when the MBP is updated with Penryn we’ll also get the multi-touch trackpad and the revised keyboard layout/design like the MacBook Air.

EDIT (Jan 28, 2008): More rumors that the upgrade will happen within the next 1 – 4 weeks.

EDIT (Jan 30, 2008): Some actual evidence of the new MBP?

EDIT (Feb 27, 2008): Finally!

[via AppleInsider & Engadget]

Filed under: Apple, Laptop, MacBook Pro, Mobile Computing, Rumors

9 Responses

  1. Binu says:

    Just what I wanted to know.

    I’ve got a 4 year old PowerBook G4. First sign of a significant change to the MacBook (and Pro) line was when Apple changed the Keyboard layout on the new iMac.

    They wouldn’t leave that kind of discrepancy across their product line, unless they had something in mind.

    Thanks for the info, Friend.

    Rgds
    B.

  2. […] thing to keep in mind: this is NOT the MacBook Pro processor upgrade that we are hoping to see in January 2008 – i.e., the upgrade to Intel’s Penryn […]

  3. koolio says:

    Glad it was helpful and thanks for the comment!

    FYI, Apple just updated the MacBook and MacBook Pro today…although, it’s not the Intel Penryn upgrade we’re waiting for in (hopefully) January 2008.

  4. anonymous says:

    Guess it’ll be a bit longer of a wait. The MacBook Air came out today, but no Penryn MBPs in sight. February perhaps?

  5. koolio says:

    Yeah, I’m REALLY bummed that the MBPs didn’t get upgraded. There are rumors that Intel had/is having an issue with the thermal sensor on the Penryn chips and that supply will be tight through February.

    If this rumor is true, then we prolly won’t see updated MBPs until March/April. Ugh.

  6. Pine says:

    I was so anxious for an update to the MBP yesterday. I’m running a 15″ powerbook from 2004 that still works really well as a glorified word processor but I need to move forward and thought yesterday would be the day.

    I spoke to a mac rep today for my university grilling him about the lack of announcement yesterday and it looks like these type of announcements will be more for quarter year conferences so hopefully we’ll see something at NAB. I’ll be even more pissed if I have to wait til WWDC…a whole year with no MBP update would be the worst.

  7. koolio says:

    @Pine
    Good to hear your Powerbook is still holding up but mine is sooooo slow…and I’ve already done a complete reinstall of the OS a few months ago to speed things up – which worked but its now back to a crawl.

    I really hope we don’t have to wait until NAB (April 14 – 17, 2008) because I can’t wait another 3 months. The other thing that’s killing me is I have a company discount for one computer purchase and it expires on Jan. 24. I think I may have to pull the trigger if we don’t hear anything in the near future b/c I can get the $2,500 MBP for $2,000 with the discount.

  8. b says:

    I was definately bummed at the lack of updates. Now I’m starting to worry – Do you think Apple will wait for the Montevina chips before doing a major update?

    Surely if they were planning a major case redesign (slimmer+curvier like the air, with the new keyboard, multi-touch, etc) then they would use the new platform? A more significant update, surely, than using Peryn. Its still the Santa Rosa platform, bumping specs by less than 10%.

  9. koolio says:

    @ b

    I’m gonna take a guess and say that Apple will use the Penryn chips with the current Santa Rosa chips before transitioning to Montevina. I’m also guessing that Apple will use Montevina in the second half of 2008. Apple doesn’t seem to transition to new chipsets right when they’re released. For example, with Santa Rosa, I think it took Apple a few months to start using it in the MBPs…whereas the PC makers were using it pretty much right when it was released.

    If memory serves, the last time the MBPs were updated was June 2007 and, historically, Apple updates/refreshes their laptops every 6-8 months.

    Personally, the Montevina chipset sounds like it will provide some nice features but I can’t wait until May/June for an updated MBP. So, selfishly, I hope we’ll see Penryn with Santa Rosa within the next month.

Leave a Reply

